Background

Founded in 1993, the Economic and Social Council of Ottawa Carleton (CESOC) was legally constituted as a non-profit corporate agency in 1994. For the past 18 years, the agency has been working on the development of a multicultural Francophonie through the full social and cultural integration of French-language immigrants from the four corners of the world, primarily from Francophone Africa, Haiti, the Middle East and, more recently, from the Francophone countries of Europe.

CESOC’s organizational structure consists of a Board of Directors and a Coordinator’s Office that manages the daily operations of the agency with the help of managers and program coordinators.

Originally, CESOC received grants from the Department of Human Resources and Skills Development Canada, the Ontario Trillium Foundation, the City of Ottawa and other funders.

Since 2004, CESOC has been mainly funded by the Department of Citizenship and Immigration Canada through the Immigrant Settlement and Adaptation Program (ISAP). This funding has enabled the agency to provide reception and settlement services to more than 5,000 French-language clients. Subsequently, CESOC has received additional funding for the creation of support services to meet related needs in such fields as employability and health.

CESOC is part of a large network of agencies that provide services in both official languages. Furthermore, the agency is a member of LASI (Local Agencies Serving Immigrants), OLIP (Ottawa Local Immigration Partnership), OCASI (Ontario Council of Agencies Serving Immigrants), AFO (Assemblée de la francophonie de l’Ontario), CPIFO (Coalition pour prévenir l’itinérance chez les francophones d’Ottawa), CCR (Canadian Council for Refugees), and works in partnership with the University of Ottawa’s Centre for Global and Community Engagement, La Cité collégiale, La Nouvelle Scène, OCISO (Ottawa Community Immigrant Services Organization), the YMCA-YWCA, Jewish Family Services and many other partners.

Historique

Fondé en 1993, le Conseil économique et social d’Ottawa Carleton (CÉSOC) a été légalement constitué comme un organisme corporatif sans but lucratif en 1994. Il œuvre depuis ces 18 ans dans la création d’une francophonie multiculturelle à travers la pleine intégration socioculturelle d’immigrants d’expression française venus des quatre coins du monde, principalement d’Afrique francophone, d’Haïti, du Moyen Orient et tout récemment de pays francophone d’Europe.

La structurelle organisationnelle du CÉSOC se compose d’un Conseil d’Administration et d’une direction générale qui gère l’opération journaliere de l’organisme avec l’aide de gestionnaires et de coordonnateurs de programmes.

A l’origine, le CÉSOC a bénéficié de subventions du ministère des Ressources Humaines du Canada, de la Fondation Trillium de l’Ontario, de la ville d’Ottawa et d’autres bailleurs de fonds.

Depuis 2004, le CÉSOC reçoit majoritairement du financement en provenance du ministère de Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada à travers le programme PEAI. Ce financement lui a permis de fournir des services d’accueil et d’établissement à plus 5000 clients d’expression française. Par la suite, le CÉSOC a reçu d’autres financements pour la mise place de services de supports pour répondre à des besoins connexes tels qu’en employabilité et en santé.

Le CÉSOC fait partie d’un grand réseau d’organismes qui offrent des services dans les deux langues officielles. Il est, entre autres, membre de LASI (Local agencies serving immigrants), du PLIO (Partenariat local en immigration d’Ottawa), d’OCASI (Ontario agencies serving immigrants), de l’AFO (Association de la Francophonie de l’Ontario), du CPIFO (Coalition pour prévenir l’itinérance chez les francophones d’Ottawa), du CCR (Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés) et travaille en partenariat avec le Centre d’engagement mondial et communautaire de l’Université d’Ottawa, avec la Cité Collégiale, la Nouvelle Scène, avec OCISO (Ottawa immigrant service organization), avec le YMCA-YWCA avec le Jewis Family Services et avec bien d’autres partenaires.